In spite of its rich raw material reserves, Myanmar is one of the poorest countries in the world. However, since 2011, this country by the Indian Ocean has been opening up, both politically and economically. The decades-long military government was removed and, with the country’s first constitutional presidential elections, the process of democratization began. The economy is growing rapidly, particularly the textile industry. But despite the economic upturn and general improvement in living conditions, there is a negative side. New jobs are often created in low-wage sectors, frequently dominated by precarious working conditions.

 

ASIA MAP_short-01

 

We make a small proportion of our products in Myanmar too. But how successfully are we able to implement our standards for sustainable production in Myanmar? Hannes from our CR team asked himself this very question. Here he gives us an insight into our approach and what working conditions are like in-country.

 

Why do we produce in Myanmar?

Since 2016, we’ve been making a small proportion of our products in Myanmar. One of our long-term producers in China approached us and offered to make our backpacks in their new production site in Myanmar. At that point, the factory wasn’t yet operating to full capacity, so our producer was looking for products to increase it. When it comes to quality and working conditions, we really put our trust in our producers, so we agreed to extend production to Myanmar.

 

How would you describe working conditions in Myanmar?

In general, we must bear in mind that conditions vary greatly from factory to factory. However, the risk of finding working conditions that are bad is relatively high compared with other countries. After Myanmar’s political and economic opening, civil rights have advanced. But systems to improve working conditions are being introduced very slowly. Many workers don’t actually know what their rights are. A constructive basis for negotiation between trade unions and employers must be established first.

We’re aware of the risks of producing in Myanmar and are working with the Fair Wear Foundation(FWF) to ensure working conditions constantly improve. Part of this involves paying regular visits to our production sites to discuss the problems and challenges they face. The Fair Wear Foundation also conducts thorough audits to check whether work standards are being adhered to. To address problems at an even deeper level, we’ve already held a training session for workers and management on the subject of workers’ rights.

 

Are there any special requirements for our production in Myanmar?

The Fair Wear Foundation has stricter requirements for monitoring working conditions at production sites in Myanmar. Each year, the FWF conducts a Brand Performance Check (hier mehr), to check whether we’re adhering to these standards and our responsibilities.

 

arbeitsrichtlinien3

 

So what are the biggest challenges?

As so often in life, the biggest problem is communication. Often, there aren’t any official communication channels betwen management and workers. This means that management is often unaware of current issues. On-site this often expresses itself in organized strikes by unhappy employees. To make matters worse, foreign investments are causing the gap between rich and poor to get wider. The workers often earn just a fraction of what foreign investors turn over, and they want a share in this wealth. On the other hand, the investors and factory owners frequently set low wages to remain internationally competitive. In many cases, this also leads to conflict.

 

What problems have we encountered in the factories so far?

In the factories that produce for us, all staff are able to make a complaint to the Fair Wear Foundation by phone. Since we started production in Myanmar, three employees have used this right. (More information can be found here http://www.fondofbags.com/the-fair-wear-foundation-complaint-helpline/). Working closely with the FWF and factory management, we were able to find a solution for these three complaints that was acceptable to everyone. Workplace safety was also improved, wages and wage transparency was increased and management and the union now work more closely together.
What have we learned from these complaints?

Although it’s always good to have faith in our suppliers, it’s important to get an idea of the situation on the ground first hand, to dig deeper and then work proactively, in cooperation with suppliers, to improve it. The improvements mentioned above were successfully implemented, however we’ve since decided to leave the original production sites. Over time, our trust in their management continued to erode. Since November 2017, we’ve moved production to another site in Myanmar. We audited the site in advance and were able to get clarity on working conditions and especially workplace safety. Since then, there have been no employment law incidents. We’ll soon be conducting our first follow-up audit to check the relationship between the employer and employees.

 

What is the situation with wages?

This is our next challenge. Myanmar is a low-wage country, with one of the lowest minimum wages in the world. Even though it increased once again this year, it’s currently 4,800 kyat per day (approx. 2.60 euros).
However, salaries at our production site are over the statutory minimum wage. At the last increase in 2017, the average salary was 50% higher than the statutory salary at the time. A worker received 158,000 kyat a month, which is equivalent to about 84 euros. Because purchasing power is low, this actually corresponds to a much higher value in euros. Bonuses and overtime are also added on top of that.

Löhne_PPP$

Using the World Bank’s conversion factor, we have converted and presented the wages in PPP$ (Purchasing Power Parity). This allows the actual purchasing power to be displayed and wages to be compared regardless of the currency. The data was collected in 2017 and in the meantime, the minimum wage has been raised to 144,000 kyats.

 

What does the future hold? Will we stay in Myanmar?

We always plan to have long-term cooperations with our suppliers. We’re happy with the level of quality and working conditions, so this principle also applies to Myanmar. Naturally we have to keep an eye on how the situation develops on-site; that being said, we believe that a proactive approach to improving working conditions achieves much more than just turning our backs on a country completely.

 

hannes_neuFor more information and to answer your questions please call our CR-Team: CR@FONDOF.de

Myanmar zählt trotz seiner reichen Rohstoff-Vorkommen zu den ärmsten Ländern der Welt. Seit 2011 befindet sich das Land am indischen Ozean jedoch in einem politischen und wirtschaftlichen Öffnungsprozess. Die jahrzehntelang herrschende Militärregierung wurde abgesetzt und mit den ersten verfassungsgebundenen Präsidentschaftswahlen schreitet die Demokratisierung voran. Die Wirtschaft wächst rasant und mit ihr vor allem auch die Textilindustrie. Trotz des wirtschaftlichen Aufschwungs und der damit einhergehenden Verbesserung der generellen Lebensbedingungen, gibt es auch eine negative Seite der Entwicklung. So entstehen neue Jobs oft in den Billiglohn-Sektoren, in denen man nicht selten prekäre Arbeitsbedingungen vorfindet.

 

ASIA MAP_short-01

 

Auch wir stellen einen geringen Teil unserer Produkte in Myanmar her. Doch inwiefern können wir unsere Standards zur nachhaltigen Produktion in Myanmar umsetzen? Hannes aus unserem CR-Team stellt sich dieser Frage und gibt uns Einblicke in unsere Herangehensweise und in die Arbeitsbedingungen vor Ort.

 

Warum produzieren wir in Myanmar?

Seit 2016 lassen wir einen kleinen Teil unserer Produkte in Myanmar produzieren. Einer unserer langjährigen chinesischen Hauptproduzenten kam damals auf uns zu und hat uns die Herstellung unserer Rucksäcke in seiner neu eröffneten Produktionsstätte in Myanmar angeboten. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war die Fabrik nicht ausgelastet und unser Produzent suchte nach Produkten, um die Auslastung zu erhöhen. Da wir unserem Produzenten in Bezug auf Qualität und Arbeitsbedingungen großes Vertrauen entgegenbringen, haben wir einer Produktion in Myanmar zugestimmt.

 

Wie würdest Du die Arbeitsbedingungen in Myanmar beschreiben?

Generell muss man beachten, dass es große Unterschiede zwischen den einzelnen Fabriken geben kann. Das Risiko, schlechte Arbeitsbedingungen vorzufinden, ist jedoch im internationalen Vergleich relativ hoch. Nach der wirtschaftspolitischen Öffnung Myanmars hat es Fortschritte im Bereich der Bürgerrechte gegeben. Dennoch finden Systeme zur Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen nur langsam Einzug. Viele Arbeiter wissen noch gar nicht, welche Rechte sie eigentlich haben. Eine konstruktive Verhandlungsbasis zwischen Gewerkschaften und Arbeitgebern muss erst noch etabliert werden.

Wir sind uns den Risiken, die eine Produktion in Myanmar mit sich bringt, bewusst und setzen uns in Zusammenarbeit mit der Fair Wear Foundation (FWF) für die stetige Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen ein. Dazu gehört auch, dass wir unsere Produktionsstätten in regelmäßigen Abständen besuchen, um über Herausforderungen und Probleme zu diskutieren. Zusätzlich führt die Fair Wear Foundation sogenannte Audits durch, bei denen die Einhaltung von Arbeitsstandards akribisch überprüft wird. Um die Probleme noch tiefgreifender zu bewältigen, haben wir bereits ein Training durchgeführt, bei dem die Arbeiter über ihre Rechte aufgeklärt wurden und das Management geschult wurde.

 

Gibt es spezielle Anforderungen für unsere Produktion in Myanmar?

Die Fair Wear Foundation gibt für die Produktion in Myanmar strengere Anforderungen an die Überwachung der Arbeitsbedingungen vor. Jedes Jahr überprüft die FWF innerhalb eines Brand Performance Checks (hier mehr), ob wir diese Standards einhalten und somit unserer Verantwortung gerecht werden.

 

arbeitsrichtlinien3

 

Was sind konkret die größten Herausforderungen?

Wie so oft im Leben besteht das größte Problem in der Kommunikation. Oftmals gibt es keine geregelten Kommunikationskanäle zwischen Management und Arbeitern. Dies führt dazu, dass das Management existierende Probleme oft gar nicht erst wahrnimmt. Vor Ort äußert sich das dann nicht selten in organisierten Streiks von unzufriedenen Mitarbeitern. Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass die Schere zwischen Arm und Reich durch ausländische Investitionen weiter auseinander geht. Die Arbeiter verdienen oftmals nur einen Bruchteil dessen, was ausländische Investoren umsetzen und wollen an diesem Reichtum teilhaben. Auf der anderen Seite sind die Investoren und Fabrikbesitzer auf niedrige Löhne angewiesen, um international konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben. Auch dies führt häufig zu Konflikten.

 

Mit welchen Problemen in den Fabriken wurden wir bisher konfrontiert?

In den Fabriken, die für uns produzieren, haben alle Mitarbeiter die Möglichkeit telefonisch eine Beschwerde bei der Fair Wear Foundation einzureichen. Seit dem Start unserer Produktion in Myanmar haben drei Mitarbeiter von diesem Recht Gebrauch gemacht. In Zusammenarbeit mit der FWF und dem Fabrikmanagement konnten wir für diese drei Beschwerden eine Lösung finden, die für alle Seiten akzeptabel war. Darüber hinaus wurde die Arbeitssicherheit verbessert, die Löhne und die Lohntransparenz erhöht sowie ein engerer Austausch zwischen Management und Gewerkschaft erzielt.

 

Was haben wir aus diesen Beschwerden gelernt?

Wir haben gelernt, dass es trotz eines großen Vertrauens gegenüber unseren Lieferanten immer auch gut ist, sich selbst ein Bild vor Ort zu machen, tiefer zu bohren und sich dann proaktiv und in Kooperation mit den Lieferanten für eine Verbesserung der Situation einzusetzen. Obwohl es zu den oben geschilderten Verbesserungen kam, haben wir uns dazu entschieden, die ursprüngliche Produktionsstätte zu verlassen, da das Vertrauen in das Management im Laufe der Zeit immer mehr geschwunden ist. Seit November 2017 produzieren wir nun in einer anderen Produktionsstätte in Myanmar. Dort hatten wir vorab ein Audit durchgeführt und konnten Klarheit über die Arbeitsbedingungen und vor allem über die Arbeitssicherheit gewinnen. Seitdem gab es noch keine konkreten arbeitsrechtlichen Vorfälle. Jetzt steht bald ein erstes Follow-Up Audit zur Kontrolle der Arbeitsverhältnisse an.

 

Wie sieht es dort mit der Bezahlung aus?

Hier liegt eine nächste Herausforderung. Myanmar ist ein Niedriglohnland, mit einen der geringsten Mindestlöhne der Welt. Auch wenn er in diesem Jahr noch einmal angestiegen ist, liegt er momentan bei 4800 Kyat pro Tag (ca. 2,60 Euro).

Die Gehälter in unserer Produktion liegen allerdings über dem staatlich festgesetzten Mindestlohn. Bei der letzten Erhebung im Jahr 2017 lag das Durchschnittsgehalt 50% über dem damals vorgeschriebenen Gehalt. So bekam ein Arbeiter 158,000 Kyat pro Monat, was in etwa 84 Euro entspricht. Aufgrund der niedrigen Kaufkraft entspricht dies natürlich einem vielfach höheren tatsächlichen Gegenwert in Euro. Hinzu kommen noch Bonus- und Überstundenzahlungen.
Löhne_PPP$

Wir haben, mit Hilfe des Umrechnungsfaktor der Weltbank, die Löhne in PPP$ (Purchasing Power Parity) umgerechnet und dargestellt. Dadurch lässt sich die tatsächliche Kaufkraft darstellen und die Löhne währungsunabhängig vergleichen. Die Daten wurden 2017 erhoben. Nach dem nächsten Audit werden wir aktuelle Zahlen der Lohnstruktur haben.

 

Wie sieht es in Zukunft aus, bleiben wir in Myanmar?

Wir planen immer langfristig mit unseren Lieferanten zusammenzuarbeiten. Da wir sowohl mit dem Qualitätsniveau als auch mit den Arbeitsbedingungen zufrieden sind, gilt dieser Grundsatz auch für Myanmar. Natürlich müssen wir beobachten, wie sich die Situation vor Ort genau entwickelt, dennoch glauben wir, dass wir mit unserem proaktiven Einsatz für bessere Arbeitsbedingungen mehr erreichen, als wenn wir dem Land den Rücken kehren.

 

Weitere Fragen könnt ihr an unser CR-Team stellen: CR@FONDOF.de

hannes_neu