Philipp, FOND OF DIGITAL and responsible for our digital team gives an insight into the digital stategy at FOND OF BAGS. Below, you will find Daniel’s (FOND OF ONLINE MARKETING) speech at Fashiontech.

FOND OF BAGS employs over 180 people by now. A lot of them work in the digital sector. How did this development come about?

Philipp: Right from the start we felt that digitalization played a big role. Accordingly, we hired a lot of great people. It is quite important to us to establish own know-how in advance to including external partners – so we can be sure to gain a deep understanding of the things weare doing.

How easy or difficult was it to recruit digital talents and what did you do to find them?

Philipp: It can take some time to recruit matching, professional people. But the waiting is paying off. For example, we organized meet-ups – rather small and nice instead of big and fancy. They were mainly held with regional people, beacause we intend to create a small network circle. Round about 50 % of our employees found their way to us via personal contacts.

Which challenges do you meet regarding digitalization?

Philipp: Currently, this would be the organization of time and ressources in day-to-day-business. As any collection, bag- collections reach peaks and thus produce times with a great deal to do. We solve this by working together with freelancers, having early kick-offs and clear agreements. Slack and Asana are modern tools we use for coordination purposes. They increase efficiency by far! Furthermore we mostly go without emails and rather prefer personal communication.

Speaking of tools, what’s your stategy here?

Philipp: The whole digital team agrees on the “Best-In-Class” approach. We are fond of flexibility and thus refrain from establishing a single overall software of a ‘monolith nature’. This kind of software solution would create dependencies and would not be able to function as an expert due to its generalist approach. It is challenging, of course, to build a bridge between the different tools. But on the other hand, it is way more effective to have the possibility to use each tool specifically than to be dependent of a single one, which might get overhauled at some point of time.

Certainly, there have been achievements you are proud of – would you mind sharing them with us?

Philipp: At the moment, we achieve success on small as well as big levels – mainly by unrolling really fast. For example, we run digital branding and create Brands by high digital advertising pressure. And apparently, the strategy proofs to be very successful, lately seen with AEVOR, although others say: That won’t work. The strategy also functions for our streetfashion brand pinqponq, although it already arrived in the Evoked Set of the target Groups.

How does digital branding look like at your company?

Philipp: For instance, digital branding for pinqponq works like this: we addressed potential customers within a radius of 6 -9 miles around our retail partners, meaning within close proximity to our points of sale. Online Marketing Rockstars recently mentioned us as a “Best-in-Class” example for Instagram-Advertising with our brand pinqponq.

Honestly:  Instagram – Hype or hymn?

Philipp: For us, Instagram is a central communication channel. In my opinion, it is still an uprising  channel, which is defining its rules of the game between the stakeholders: influencers, brands and customers. A plus from a technological point of view: Facebook ads do not have to be extensively adjusted to be sucessfully displayed on Instagram. Besides, we keep tight blogger relations to reach millions of followers with smart product Placements.

So influencer marketing is a big thing for your company, right?

Philipp: Exactly, it is a big component of our digital strategy. Recently, we actually tripled the total follower numbers of AEVOR with influencer marketing, for example. We always pay attention to brand fit and target group fit when it comes to cooperations with influencers. In our communication wirh them, we point out the importance of a clear-cut declaration as advertisement. We are currently in the process of establishing cusomized methods to make our success measurable. The most important factors to evaluate are the number of followers, user interaction (comments, likes) and cost per interaction.

Finally: are you still looking for new employees? – What kind of people would you like for your team?

Philipp: I believe that our digital team will increase in number accordingly to the company growth. Taking into account our corporate mission bearing responsibility and sustainabilty, we are interested in long term partnerships – whether with permanent employees or freelancers. From time to time, we are looking for people joining our creation (web design, graphic design), online marketing (Facebook ninjas, SEO experts, CRM) and development Team.

Thank you very much, Philipp!

The interview was conducted by Martin, FOND OF CORPORATE BRAND & COMMUNICATION.

Are you interested in working with us? Visit our job page for further information.

Speech #fashiontech // Daniel, FOND OF ONLINE MARKETING, explains in a nutshell, what the digital strategy of FOND OF BAGS looks like.

Philipp, FOND OF DIGITAL und verantwortlich für unsere Digital-Teams, gibt in unserem Interview Einblick in die Digitalstrategie von FOND OF BAGS. Weiter unten habt ihr die Möglichkeit euch den Vortrag zur Digitalstrategie von FOND OF BAGS  – Daniel Mensing // Fashiontech Januar 2017 –  anzuschauen und mehr zu erfahren.

Mittlerweile arbeiten bei FOND OF BAGS über 180 Menschen, davon viele in digitalen Jobs. Wie kam es zu dieser Entwicklung?

Philipp: Uns war von Anfang an bewusst, dass Digitalisierung eine große Rolle spielt, dementsprechend haben wir hier in viele tolle Menschen investiert und sie an Bord geholt. Uns ist wichtig, intern eigenes Know-How aufzubauen, um die Dinge, die wir tun, zu verstehen – bevor wir externe Partner mit einbinden.

Wie einfach oder schwer war es, Talente im Digitalbereich zu finden und was habt ihr dafür getan?

Philipp: Das kann oftmals länger dauern, wenn man für ein Unternehmen recruitet, für uns zahlt sich das Warten aber aus. Wir haben z.B. Meetups veranstaltet, klein und fein, statt fancy und big. Dabei ging es uns um Leute aus der Region, ein kleiner Kreis der als Netzwerk fungiert. Insgesamt sind wohl über 50% der Menschen, die bei uns arbeiten über Kontakte gekommen.

Welche Herausforderungen siehst Du für Euch im Rahmen der Digitalisierung und wie begegnet ihr diesen?

Philipp: Im Tagesgeschäft ist dies momentan die Ressourceneinteilung. Rucksack- und Taschen-Kollektionen haben Peaks und es gibt Zeiten, zu denen die „Hütte brennt“. Das lösen wir durch ein Netzwerk an externen Freelancern, durch frühe Starts und gute Absprachen. Zur Abstimmung nutzen wir modernste Tools wie Slack oder Asana, die Effizienzvorteile für uns bringen, verzichten weitestgehend auf Emails und nutzen direkte Absprachen.

Apropos Tools, wie sieht hier Eure Strategie aus?

Philipp: Da sind wir uns im Digitalteam einig und verfolgen einen „Best-in-Class“ – Ansatz. Wir schätzen Flexibilität und glauben, dass eine einzige, übergreifende Softwarelösung mit „Monolith“-Charakter Abhängigkeiten schafft und auf Grund ihres generalistischen Ansatzes nicht überall Experte sein kann. Klar gibt es dann die Herausforderung, Brücken zwischen den Tools zu bauen, das sind aber für uns geringere Übel als in Abhängigkeit einzelner Tools zu geraten, für deren Lösungen es irgendwann bessere gibt.

Sicher gibt es schon Erfolge, auf die ihr stolz seid – berichtest Du uns davon?

Philipp: Im Moment verzeichnen wir viele kleine und größere Erfolge, vor allem durch schnelles Ausrollen. Wir betreiben z.B. digitales Branding und schaffen Marken durch starken, digitalen Werbedruck, wo alle anderen sagen: geht nicht. Das offensichtlich mit Erfolg, zuletzt gerade mit AEVOR. Aber auch bei Marken im Aufbau, die bereits im Evoked Set der Zielgruppen angelangt sind wie unsere Streetfashion-Marke pinqponq funktioniert dies sehr gut.

Wie schafft ihr digitales Branding ganz konkret?

Philipp: Bei pinqponq haben wir beispielsweise unsere potentiellen Kunden im Umkreis von 10 – 15 km unserer Fachhändler digital angesprochen, quasi in unmittelbarer Nähe des Point of Sale. Online Marketing Rockstars hat uns vor kurzem als erfolgreiches „Best-in-Class“ – Beispiel für Instagram-Advertising mit unserer Marke pinqponq genannt.

Hand auf Herz: Instagram – Hype oder Hymne?

Philipp: Für uns ist Instagram ein zentraler Kommunikationskanal. Aus meiner Sicht immer noch ein neuer Kanal, der seine Spielregeln zwischen Influencern, Brands und Endkunden gerade definiert. Schön ist auf der technischen Seite: Facebook-Ads muss man nicht groß anpassen, um sie auf Instagram auszuspielen. Andererseits haben wir enge, eigene Blogger-Relations, über die wir Millionen von Followern erreichen können mit Produktplatzierungen.

Influencer-Marketing ist für Euch also ein großes Thema?

Philipp: Es ist natürlich ein Baustein in unserer Digitalstrategie. Wir konnten aber damit z.B. kürzlich die Zahl an Followern für AEVOR verdreifachen. Grundsätzlich achten wir bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Influencern auf Markenfit und Zielgruppenfit und weisen die Influencer daraufhin, Product Placements sauber als Werbung zu deklarieren. Wir entwickeln Methoden für uns, den Erfolg hier messbar zu machen. Wichtigste Faktoren sind natürlich die Anzahl aller Follower, Interaktionen der Nutzer (Kommentare, Likes) und die Kosten pro Interaktion.

Zum Schluss: Sucht ihr noch oder habt ihr schon – welche Menschen sucht ihr für Euer Team?

Philipp: Ich glaube, dass mit dem Wachstum unseres Unternehmens auch unser Digitalteam kontinuierlich wachsen wird. Ein Stück weit sehen wir das hier auch unter dem Nachhaltigkeits-Gesichtspunkt im Sinne von langfristigen Partnerschaften – egal ob fest angestellt oder Freelancer. Wir suchen immer wieder im Bereich Kreation (Webdesign, Graphikdesign etc.), Online Marketing (Facebook-Ninjas, SEO-Experten, CRM etc.) und Programmierung oder Navision-Experten.

Vielen Dank, Philipp!

Das Interview führte Martin, FOND OF CORPORATE BRAND & COMMUNICATION.

Du hast Interesse, Teil unseres (Digital-) Teams zu werden? Dann schau doch mal auf unserer Jobseite vorbei.

Vortrag #fashiontech, Januar 2017 // Daniel, FOND OF DIGITAL, gibt einen informativen Einblick in unsere Digitalstrategie.